Skip to content
UpcomingPlanned procurementElectrical equipmentConstruction materials

C280 (2027) Supply Low Voltage Cable Jointing Systems[E15]

Belfast, United KingdomNorthern Ireland Electricity Networks Limited[E1]

In plain English

What they want
Northern Ireland Electricity Networks Limited (NIE Networks) intends to establish a framework arrangement under which it shall appoint suppliers to enter into separate framework agreements for C280 (2027) Supply Low Voltage Cable Jointing Systems.
Who can bid
No restrictions are stated in the notice data. The tender documents may set more.
Expected deadline
Not stated
Published 21 Oct 2026.
Value
GBP 15,500,000
Buyer
Northern Ireland Electricity Networks LimitedSee what else this buyer buys and when.
Tender documents

The tender documents for this notice are on the buyer's own portal, usually behind a free supplier registration. We link to them and do not fetch them, so the report is based on the notice only.

Your tender documents

Download the tender pack from the buyer's portal (the invitation to tender, specification, selection questionnaire, scoring and draft contract) and add it here. We read every page and check it against your company for the bid assessment.

Sign in to upload documents.

Expected deadline
Not stated
Value[E16]
GBP 15,500,000
Published[E13]
21 Oct 2026
Procedure
Not stated
Last checked
12 hours ago

About the requirement

From the notice

Northern Ireland Electricity Networks Limited (NIE Networks) intends to establish a framework arrangement under which it shall appoint suppliers to enter into separate framework agreements for C280 (2027) Supply Low Voltage Cable Jointing Systems. It is anticipated that each framework agreement awarded will be for a period of five (5) years with an option, exercisable entirely at the discretion of the contracting authority and subject to the terms of the framework agreement, to extend by a further optional period of up to three (3) years, with a total potential duration of eight (8) years. NIE Networks estimates that the total spend under framework agreements could be up to £15.5 million over the total potential eight-year duration. Therefore, NIE Networks is conducting a Preliminary Market Engagement (PME) supplier information event to gather insights from the market before initiating a procurement process for Contract C280 (2027) Supply Low Voltage Cable Jointing Systems. This engagement aims to assess the market's interest and capabilities in delivering Contract C280 (2027), identify potential solutions and develop an effective procurement strategy. NIE Networks anticipates an ongoing requirement for resin compounds, insulation compounds, joint shells and complete low voltage cable jointing systems. Through this engagement, NIE Networks also wishes to understand developments within the market and identify any innovative products, technologies or approaches that could provide additional benefits in areas such as safety, reliability, installation efficiency, sustainability…[E9]

Eligibility and requirements

  • ConditionDelivery location: UKN, United Kingdom.[E10]
  • ConditionThe legal basis is UKPGA 2023/54 (Procurement Act 2023).[E11]
  • DetailLot 1 runs from 1 Nov 2027 to 31 Oct 2032, extendable to 31 Oct 2035.[E7]
  • The notice data states no restriction on who may bid. Exclusion grounds and selection criteria in the tender documents still apply.

Risks and unknowns

  • RiskBidding has not opened. Scope and dates can change before the call for competition.[E12]
  • UnknownNo submission deadline we could read in the notice data.
  • UnknownWe read the published notice, not the full tender documents.

Updates

  1. Updated · 28 Oct 2026, 11:16 UTC

    The source published a planning or prior information notice. Bidding has not opened.

    Changed: source url, notice type (source document 101957-2026)

  2. First seen · 28 Oct 2026, 09:21 UTC

    The source published a planning or prior information notice. Bidding has not opened.

    Source document 099516-2026

Evidence

16 facts

Every fact on this page comes from the published notice. Each entry shows the document and the field it was read from.

  1. E1

    The buyer is Northern Ireland Electricity Networks Limited.

    Document 101957-2026, field /buyer/name, read 28 Oct 2026, 11:16 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)

  2. E2

    The notice is classified under CPV 44320000 (Cable and related products).

    Document 101957-2026, field /tender/items/0/additionalClassifications/4/id, read 28 Oct 2026, 11:16 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)

  3. E3

    The notice is classified under CPV 31343000 (Insulated cable joints).

    Document 101957-2026, field /tender/items/0/additionalClassifications/1/id, read 28 Oct 2026, 11:16 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)

  4. E4

    The notice is classified under CPV 31342000 (Insulated cable junctions).

    Document 101957-2026, field /tender/items/0/additionalClassifications/2/id, read 28 Oct 2026, 11:16 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)

  5. E5

    The notice is classified under CPV 44300000 (Cable, wire and related products).

    Document 101957-2026, field /tender/items/0/additionalClassifications/3/id, read 28 Oct 2026, 11:16 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)

  6. E6

    The notice is classified under CPV 31224800 (Cable joining kits).

    Document 101957-2026, field /tender/items/0/additionalClassifications/0/id, read 28 Oct 2026, 11:16 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)

  7. E7

    Lot 1 runs from 1 Nov 2027 to 31 Oct 2032, extendable to 31 Oct 2035.

    “2027-11-01T00:00:00+00:00 to 2032-10-31T23:59:59+00:00”

    Document 101957-2026, field /tender/lots/0/contractPeriod, read 28 Oct 2026, 11:16 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)

  8. E8

    The buyer's address is in United Kingdom.

    Document 101957-2026, field /parties/0/address/country, read 28 Oct 2026, 11:16 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)

  9. E9

    The buyer describes the requirement in the notice.

    “Northern Ireland Electricity Networks Limited (NIE Networks) intends to establish a framework arrangement under which it shall appoint suppliers to enter into separate framework agreements for C280 (2027) Supply Low Voltage Cable Jointing Systems. It is anticipated that each fra…”

    Document 101957-2026, field /tender/description, read 28 Oct 2026, 11:16 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)

  10. E10

    Delivery location: UKN, United Kingdom.

    Document 101957-2026, field /tender/items/0/deliveryAddresses/0, read 28 Oct 2026, 11:16 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)

  11. E11

    The legal basis is UKPGA 2023/54 (Procurement Act 2023).

    Document 101957-2026, field /tender/legalBasis/id, read 28 Oct 2026, 11:16 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)

  12. E12

    This is a planning or market engagement notice. Bidding has not opened.

    “planningUpdate”

    Document 101957-2026, field /tag, read 28 Oct 2026, 11:16 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)

  13. E13

    The notice was published on 28 Oct 2026.

    “2026-10-28T11:15:52Z”

    Document 101957-2026, field /date, read 28 Oct 2026, 11:16 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)

  14. E14

    Find a Tender gives the tender status as planning.

    Document 101957-2026, field /tender/status, read 28 Oct 2026, 11:16 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)

  15. E15

    The notice is titled "C280 (2027) Supply Low Voltage Cable Jointing Systems".

    Document 101957-2026, field /tender/title, read 28 Oct 2026, 11:16 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)

  16. E16

    The stated value is GBP 15,500,000 excluding VAT.

    “15500000 GBP”

    Document 101957-2026, field /tender/value/amount, read 28 Oct 2026, 11:16 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)

Contains public sector information from Find a Tender, licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Data licence: Open Government Licence v3.0 (opens in a new tab). Personal contact details in notices are not stored or shown.