Skip to content
UpcomingPlanned procurementResearch and development

Innovation Marketplace[E10]

Liverpool, United KingdomGovernment Commercial Agency[E1]

In plain English

What they want
The Commercial Innovation Hub (CIH) is a cross-government centre of excellence that is pioneering new approaches to service design and procurement, established to drive procurement of innovation across government and the wider public sector.
Who can bid
No restrictions are stated in the notice data. The tender documents may set more.
Expected deadline
Not stated
Published 21 Oct 2026.
Value
GBP 900,000,000
Buyer
Government Commercial AgencySee what else this buyer buys and when.
Tender documents

The tender documents for this notice are on the buyer's own portal, usually behind a free supplier registration. We link to them and do not fetch them, so the report is based on the notice only.

Your tender documents

Download the tender pack from the buyer's portal (the invitation to tender, specification, selection questionnaire, scoring and draft contract) and add it here. We read every page and check it against your company for the bid assessment.

Sign in to upload documents.

Expected deadline
Not stated
Value[E11]
GBP 900,000,000
Published[E8]
21 Oct 2026
Procedure
Not stated
Last checked
16 hours ago

About the requirement

From the notice

The Commercial Innovation Hub (CIH) is a cross-government centre of excellence that is pioneering new approaches to service design and procurement, established to drive procurement of innovation across government and the wider public sector. The CIH was created in the context of the Procurement Act 2023 coming into force and is framed as a joint DSIT–GCA initiative announced as part of the National Procurement Policy Statement. The CIH will tackle a persistent set of barriers that limit procurement-led innovation Traditional procurement approaches are not suited for acquiring novel technologies and not always accessible for SMEs and Start Ups” and there is a perceived risk culture that limits “psychological safety to ‘fail fast’”. The CIH rationale highlights the need to improve awareness and practical use of “commercial innovation opportunities” through briefs, tools and templates, and to help departments pilot innovations and contract with new supply chains. This agreement will provide a marketplace for public sector buyers to access suppliers who specialise in innovation covering a wide range of services. As part of the collaboration with DSIT, this will be preceded by collaboration areas, referred to as Digital Commercial Innovation Hub. In these sandboxes problems and solutions will be reviewed and the Innovation Marketplace will then provide the contractual route for any potential solutions that are taken forward to delivery. This part of the proposition will be owned and delivered by DSIT. There is no physical (IT solution or otherwise) between the Hub and Innovatio…[E5]

Eligibility and requirements

  • ConditionThe legal basis is UKPGA 2023/54 (Procurement Act 2023).[E6]
  • DetailLot 1 runs from 17 Mar 2027 to 16 Mar 2033, extendable to 16 Mar 2035.[E3]
  • The notice data states no restriction on who may bid. Exclusion grounds and selection criteria in the tender documents still apply.

Risks and unknowns

  • RiskBidding has not opened. Scope and dates can change before the call for competition.[E7]
  • UnknownNo submission deadline we could read in the notice data.
  • UnknownWe read the published notice, not the full tender documents.

Updates

  1. First seen · 28 Oct 2026, 09:21 UTC

    The source published a planning or prior information notice. Bidding has not opened.

    Source document 099389-2026

Evidence

11 facts

Every fact on this page comes from the published notice. Each entry shows the document and the field it was read from.

  1. E1

    The buyer is Government Commercial Agency.

    Document 099389-2026, field /buyer/name, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:21 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)

  2. E2

    The notice is classified under CPV 73000000 (Research and development services and related consultancy services).

    Document 099389-2026, field /tender/items/0/additionalClassifications/0/id, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:21 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)

  3. E3

    Lot 1 runs from 17 Mar 2027 to 16 Mar 2033, extendable to 16 Mar 2035.

    “2027-03-17T00:00:00+00:00 to 2033-03-16T23:59:59+00:00”

    Document 099389-2026, field /tender/lots/0/contractPeriod, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:21 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)

  4. E4

    The buyer's address is in United Kingdom.

    Document 099389-2026, field /parties/0/address/country, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:21 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)

  5. E5

    The buyer describes the requirement in the notice.

    “The Commercial Innovation Hub (CIH) is a cross-government centre of excellence that is pioneering new approaches to service design and procurement, established to drive procurement of innovation across government and the wider public sector. The CIH was created in the context of…”

    Document 099389-2026, field /tender/description, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:21 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)

  6. E6

    The legal basis is UKPGA 2023/54 (Procurement Act 2023).

    Document 099389-2026, field /tender/legalBasis/id, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:21 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)

  7. E7

    This is a planning or market engagement notice. Bidding has not opened.

    “planningUpdate”

    Document 099389-2026, field /tag, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:21 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)

  8. E8

    The notice was published on 21 Oct 2026.

    “2026-10-21T11:54:02+01:00”

    Document 099389-2026, field /date, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:21 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)

  9. E9

    Find a Tender gives the tender status as planned.

    Document 099389-2026, field /tender/status, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:21 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)

  10. E10

    The notice is titled "Innovation Marketplace".

    Document 099389-2026, field /tender/title, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:21 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)

  11. E11

    The stated value is GBP 900,000,000 excluding VAT.

    “900000000 GBP”

    Document 099389-2026, field /tender/value/amount, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:21 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)

Contains public sector information from Find a Tender, licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Data licence: Open Government Licence v3.0 (opens in a new tab). Personal contact details in notices are not stored or shown.