Skip to content
UpcomingPlanned procurementConstruction workArchitecture and engineeringRepair and maintenance

Network Rail Track Focused Railway Systems Contract[E18]

London, United KingdomNETWORK RAIL INFRASTRUCTURE LIMITED[E1]

In plain English

What they want
The Current Rail Systems Alliances are Track Work contracts formed as partnerships between Network Rail and one or more suppliers. The requirement covers end-to-end delivery of track renewals, including design, planning, installation, testing, commissioning and close-out. Primary scope comprises plain line, S&C and drainage works.
Who can bid
No restrictions are stated in the notice data. The tender documents may set more.
Expected deadline
Not stated
Published 22 Oct 2026.
Value
GBP 5,000,000,000
Buyer
NETWORK RAIL INFRASTRUCTURE LIMITEDSee what else this buyer buys and when.
Tender documents

The tender documents for this notice are on the buyer's own portal, usually behind a free supplier registration. We link to them and do not fetch them, so the report is based on the notice only.

Your tender documents

Download the tender pack from the buyer's portal (the invitation to tender, specification, selection questionnaire, scoring and draft contract) and add it here. We read every page and check it against your company for the bid assessment.

Sign in to upload documents.

Expected deadline
Not stated
Value[E19]
GBP 5,000,000,000
Published[E16]
22 Oct 2026
Procedure
Not stated
Last checked
14 hours ago

About the requirement

From the notice

The Current Rail Systems Alliances are Track Work contracts formed as partnerships between Network Rail and one or more suppliers. The requirement covers end-to-end delivery of track renewals, including design, planning, installation, testing, commissioning and close-out. Primary scope comprises plain line, S&C and drainage works. Secondary scope such minor signalling, electrification and plant, telecoms, civils, structures and earthworks may also be delivered as standalone work through the alliances, which will sit alongside existing regional frameworks. In addition to this, the new contracts will have the flexibility to provide secondary scope additional works such as standalone S&T and E&P works not associated to any primary scope track works. Network Rail is seeking to appoint suitable supplier(s) to continue the delivery of Rail Systems and associated work for the Financial Period (FP) 1 and 2 programmes, the estimated start date for mobilisation is mid-2028, with go live in mid-2029. The detailed scope and commercial model will be published within the tender documents.[E10]

Eligibility and requirements

  • ConditionDelivery location: UK, United Kingdom.[E11]
  • ConditionThe legal basis is UKPGA 2023/54 (Procurement Act 2023).[E12]
  • ConditionThe buyer marks lot 1 as suitable for small and medium-sized businesses.[E13]
  • ConditionThe buyer marks lot 1 as suitable for voluntary, community and social enterprises.[E14]
  • DetailLot 1 runs from 1 Jun 2029 to 31 May 2041.[E8]
  • The notice data states no restriction on who may bid. Exclusion grounds and selection criteria in the tender documents still apply.

Risks and unknowns

  • RiskBidding has not opened. Scope and dates can change before the call for competition.[E15]
  • UnknownNo submission deadline we could read in the notice data.
  • UnknownWe read the published notice, not the full tender documents.

Updates

  1. First seen Β· 28 Oct 2026, 09:20 UTC

    The source published a planning or prior information notice. Bidding has not opened.

    Source document 099851-2026

Evidence

19 facts

Every fact on this page comes from the published notice. Each entry shows the document and the field it was read from.

  1. E1

    The buyer is NETWORK RAIL INFRASTRUCTURE LIMITED.

    Document 099851-2026, field /buyer/name, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:20 UTC Β· source (opens in a new tab)

  2. E2

    The notice is classified under CPV 71320000 (Engineering design services).

    Document 099851-2026, field /tender/items/0/additionalClassifications/5/id, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:20 UTC Β· source (opens in a new tab)

  3. E3

    The notice is classified under CPV 71311230 (Railway engineering services).

    Document 099851-2026, field /tender/items/0/additionalClassifications/2/id, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:20 UTC Β· source (opens in a new tab)

  4. E4

    The notice is classified under CPV 71311100 (Civil engineering support services).

    Document 099851-2026, field /tender/items/0/additionalClassifications/3/id, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:20 UTC Β· source (opens in a new tab)

  5. E5

    The notice is classified under CPV 50225000 (Railway-track maintenance services).

    Document 099851-2026, field /tender/items/0/additionalClassifications/4/id, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:20 UTC Β· source (opens in a new tab)

  6. E6

    The notice is classified under CPV 45234000 (Construction work for railways and cable transport systems).

    Document 099851-2026, field /tender/items/0/additionalClassifications/0/id, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:20 UTC Β· source (opens in a new tab)

  7. E7

    The notice is classified under CPV 45234100 (Railway construction works).

    Document 099851-2026, field /tender/items/0/additionalClassifications/1/id, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:20 UTC Β· source (opens in a new tab)

  8. E8

    Lot 1 runs from 1 Jun 2029 to 31 May 2041.

    β€œ2029-06-01T00:00:00+01:00 to 2041-05-31T23:59:59+01:00”

    Document 099851-2026, field /tender/lots/0/contractPeriod, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:20 UTC Β· source (opens in a new tab)

  9. E9

    The buyer's address is in United Kingdom.

    Document 099851-2026, field /parties/0/address/country, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:20 UTC Β· source (opens in a new tab)

  10. E10

    The buyer describes the requirement in the notice.

    β€œThe Current Rail Systems Alliances are Track Work contracts formed as partnerships between Network Rail and one or more suppliers. The requirement covers end-to-end delivery of track renewals, including design, planning, installation, testing, commissioning and close-out. Primar…”

    Document 099851-2026, field /tender/description, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:20 UTC Β· source (opens in a new tab)

  11. E11

    Delivery location: UK, United Kingdom.

    Document 099851-2026, field /tender/items/0/deliveryAddresses/0, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:20 UTC Β· source (opens in a new tab)

  12. E12

    The legal basis is UKPGA 2023/54 (Procurement Act 2023).

    Document 099851-2026, field /tender/legalBasis/id, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:20 UTC Β· source (opens in a new tab)

  13. E13

    The buyer marks lot 1 as suitable for small and medium-sized businesses.

    β€œsme: true”

    Document 099851-2026, field /tender/lots/0/suitability/sme, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:20 UTC Β· source (opens in a new tab)

  14. E14

    The buyer marks lot 1 as suitable for voluntary, community and social enterprises.

    β€œvcse: true”

    Document 099851-2026, field /tender/lots/0/suitability/vcse, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:20 UTC Β· source (opens in a new tab)

  15. E15

    This is a planning or market engagement notice. Bidding has not opened.

    β€œplanningUpdate”

    Document 099851-2026, field /tag, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:20 UTC Β· source (opens in a new tab)

  16. E16

    The notice was published on 22 Oct 2026.

    β€œ2026-10-22T10:49:58+01:00”

    Document 099851-2026, field /date, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:20 UTC Β· source (opens in a new tab)

  17. E17

    Find a Tender gives the tender status as planned.

    Document 099851-2026, field /tender/status, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:20 UTC Β· source (opens in a new tab)

  18. E18

    The notice is titled "Network Rail Track Focused Railway Systems Contract".

    Document 099851-2026, field /tender/title, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:20 UTC Β· source (opens in a new tab)

  19. E19

    The stated value is GBP 5,000,000,000 excluding VAT.

    β€œ5000000000 GBP”

    Document 099851-2026, field /tender/value/amount, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:20 UTC Β· source (opens in a new tab)

Contains public sector information from Find a Tender, licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Data licence: Open Government Licence v3.0 (opens in a new tab). Personal contact details in notices are not stored or shown.