RM6409 Buying Better Food and Drink 2[E25]
Liverpool, United KingdomGovernment Commercial Agency[E1]
In plain English
- What they want
- This will be a replacement agreement to follow RM6279 Buying Better Food and Drink framework, which expires on 22/01/2028. Of the £4.9bn, total Public Sector food spend, the Government Commercial Agency (GCA) has a market share <0.3%.
- Who can bid
- No restrictions are stated in the notice data. The tender documents may set more.
- Expected deadline
- Not statedPublished 28 Oct 2026.
- Value
- GBP 800,000,000
- Buyer
- Government Commercial AgencySee what else this buyer buys and when.
- How to apply
- Through the buyer's official process. Open the original notice on UK Find a Tender (OCDS) (opens in a new tab) ↗
- Tender documents
The tender documents for this notice are on the buyer's own portal, usually behind a free supplier registration. We link to them and do not fetch them, so the report is based on the notice only.
Your tender documents
Download the tender pack from the buyer's portal (the invitation to tender, specification, selection questionnaire, scoring and draft contract) and add it here. We read every page and check it against your company for the bid assessment.
Sign in to upload documents.
- Expected deadline
- Not stated
- Value[E26]
- GBP 800,000,000
- Published[E23]
- 28 Oct 2026
- Procedure[E22]
- Direct award
- Last checked
- 15 hours ago
About the requirement
From the notice
This will be a replacement agreement to follow RM6279 Buying Better Food and Drink framework, which expires on 22/01/2028. Of the £4.9bn, total Public Sector food spend, the Government Commercial Agency (GCA) has a market share <0.3%. The procurement is planned as a single supplier framework (as per the current RM6279 agreement), where the opportunity for SMEs is a key benefit of the operational model, as buyers and the Tier 1 supplier can add SMEs to the supply chain for direct delivery supplies to customers at any time, via the Buyer Unique Line terms. The framework is designed to reduce barriers for SMEs to access public sector contracts to supply food and drink. The framework will be suitable for all Public Sector buyers including central government organisations, devolved administrations and wider public sector organisations in the United Kingdom.[E19]
Eligibility and requirements
Risks and unknowns
- RiskBidding has not opened. Scope and dates can change before the call for competition.[E21]
- UnknownNo submission deadline we could read in the notice data.
- UnknownWe read the published notice, not the full tender documents.
Updates
First seen · 28 Oct 2026, 09:17 UTC
The source published a planning or prior information notice. Bidding has not opened.
Source document 101839-2026
Evidence
26 factsEvery fact on this page comes from the published notice. Each entry shows the document and the field it was read from.
- E1
The buyer is Government Commercial Agency.
Document 101839-2026, field /buyer/name, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:17 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)
- E2
The notice is classified under CPV 55300000 (Restaurant and food-serving services).
Document 101839-2026, field /tender/items/0/additionalClassifications/13/id, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:17 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)
- E3
The notice is classified under CPV 03400000 (Forestry and logging products).
Document 101839-2026, field /tender/items/0/additionalClassifications/4/id, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:17 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)
- E4
The notice is classified under CPV 15100000 (Animal products, meat and meat products).
Document 101839-2026, field /tender/items/0/additionalClassifications/5/id, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:17 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)
- E5
The notice is classified under CPV 15200000 (Prepared and preserved fish).
Document 101839-2026, field /tender/items/0/additionalClassifications/6/id, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:17 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)
- E6
The notice is classified under CPV 15300000 (Fruit, vegetables and related products).
Document 101839-2026, field /tender/items/0/additionalClassifications/7/id, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:17 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)
- E7
The notice is classified under CPV 15400000 (Animal or vegetable oils and fats).
Document 101839-2026, field /tender/items/0/additionalClassifications/8/id, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:17 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)
- E8
The notice is classified under CPV 15500000 (Dairy products).
Document 101839-2026, field /tender/items/0/additionalClassifications/9/id, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:17 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)
- E9
The notice is classified under CPV 15600000 (Grain mill products, starches and starch products).
Document 101839-2026, field /tender/items/0/additionalClassifications/10/id, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:17 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)
- E10
The notice is classified under CPV 15800000 (Miscellaneous food products).
Document 101839-2026, field /tender/items/0/additionalClassifications/11/id, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:17 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)
- E11
The notice is classified under CPV 15900000 (Beverages, tobacco and related products).
Document 101839-2026, field /tender/items/0/additionalClassifications/12/id, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:17 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)
- E12
The notice is classified under CPV 55500000 (Canteen and catering services).
Document 101839-2026, field /tender/items/0/additionalClassifications/14/id, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:17 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)
- E13
The notice is classified under CPV 15000000 (Food, beverages, tobacco and related products).
Document 101839-2026, field /tender/items/0/additionalClassifications/0/id, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:17 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)
- E14
The notice is classified under CPV 03100000 (Agricultural and horticultural products).
Document 101839-2026, field /tender/items/0/additionalClassifications/1/id, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:17 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)
- E15
The notice is classified under CPV 03200000 (Cereals, potatoes, vegetables, fruits and nuts).
Document 101839-2026, field /tender/items/0/additionalClassifications/2/id, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:17 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)
- E16
The notice is classified under CPV 03300000 (Farming, hunting and fishing products).
Document 101839-2026, field /tender/items/0/additionalClassifications/3/id, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:17 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)
- E17
Lot 1 runs from 30 Apr 2027 to 29 Apr 2029, extendable to 29 Apr 2031.
“2027-04-30T00:00:00+01:00 to 2029-04-29T23:59:59+01:00”
Document 101839-2026, field /tender/lots/0/contractPeriod, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:17 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)
- E18
The buyer's address is in United Kingdom.
Document 101839-2026, field /parties/0/address/country, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:17 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)
- E19
The buyer describes the requirement in the notice.
“This will be a replacement agreement to follow RM6279 Buying Better Food and Drink framework, which expires on 22/01/2028. Of the £4.9bn, total Public Sector food spend, the Government Commercial Agency (GCA) has a market share <0.3%. The procurement is planned as a single suppl…”
Document 101839-2026, field /tender/description, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:17 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)
- E20
The legal basis is UKPGA 2023/54 (Procurement Act 2023).
Document 101839-2026, field /tender/legalBasis/id, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:17 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)
- E21
This is a planning or market engagement notice. Bidding has not opened.
“planningUpdate”
Document 101839-2026, field /tag, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:17 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)
- E22
The procedure is: Direct award.
Document 101839-2026, field /tender/procurementMethodDetails, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:17 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)
- E23
The notice was published on 28 Oct 2026.
“2026-10-28T09:09:44Z”
Document 101839-2026, field /date, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:17 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)
- E24
Find a Tender gives the tender status as planned.
Document 101839-2026, field /tender/status, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:17 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)
- E25
The notice is titled "RM6409 Buying Better Food and Drink 2".
Document 101839-2026, field /tender/title, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:17 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)
- E26
The stated value is GBP 800,000,000 excluding VAT.
“800000000 GBP”
Document 101839-2026, field /tender/value/amount, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:17 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)
Contains public sector information from Find a Tender, licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Data licence: Open Government Licence v3.0 (opens in a new tab). Personal contact details in notices are not stored or shown.