Skip to content
UpcomingPlanned procurementIT services

Implementing and Testing a Single Unique Identifier for Children within school MIS – Alpha[E17]

London, United KingdomDepartment for Education[E1]

In plain English

What they want
The Department for Education intends to undertake a competitive procurement to appoint up to two school Management Information System suppliers to participate in the Alpha phase of the Single Unique Identifier programme. The Alpha will test the integration of participating suppliers’ Management Information System platforms with the Department for Education-hosted Get an Identifier service.
Who can bid
No restrictions are stated in the notice data. The tender documents may set more.
Expected deadline
Not stated
Published 27 Oct 2026.
Value
GBP 300,000
Buyer
Department for EducationSee what else this buyer buys and when.
Tender documents

The tender documents for this notice are on the buyer's own portal, usually behind a free supplier registration. We link to them and do not fetch them, so the report is based on the notice only.

Your tender documents

Download the tender pack from the buyer's portal (the invitation to tender, specification, selection questionnaire, scoring and draft contract) and add it here. We read every page and check it against your company for the bid assessment.

Sign in to upload documents.

Expected deadline
Not stated
Value[E18]
GBP 300,000
Published[E15]
27 Oct 2026
Procedure[E14]
Open procedure
Last checked
15 hours ago

About the requirement

From the notice

The Department for Education intends to undertake a competitive procurement to appoint up to two school Management Information System suppliers to participate in the Alpha phase of the Single Unique Identifier programme. The Alpha will test the integration of participating suppliers’ Management Information System platforms with the Department for Education-hosted Get an Identifier service. This will enable authorised access to retrieve NHS numbers and GP details obtained through NHS England’s Personal Demographics Service. Each supplier will be expected to support the recruitment and participation of existing school customers, with up to 10 schools participating across the Alpha. Suppliers will work with selected schools to plan, develop, implement, onboard, test and support the required capability within live school Management Information System environments. The required services are expected to include: • designing and developing the required system integration; • completing relevant NHS England onboarding, security and assurance activities; • supporting participating schools through onboarding and testing; • resolving defects and supporting operation during the Alpha; • collecting technical, operational and user evidence; • reporting on implementation effort, costs, timescales, data quality, match rates, error rates and technical barriers; and • producing indicative roadmaps, costs, assumptions and implementation considerations for any potential future national rollout. The Alpha is intended to generate evidence on technical feasibility, implementation complexity, suppl…[E8]

Eligibility and requirements

  • ConditionDelivery location: UK, United Kingdom.[E9]
  • ConditionThe legal basis is UKPGA 2023/54 (Procurement Act 2023).[E10]
  • ConditionThe buyer marks lot 1 as suitable for small and medium-sized businesses.[E11]
  • ConditionThe buyer marks lot 1 as suitable for voluntary, community and social enterprises.[E12]
  • DetailLot 1 runs from 24 Dec 2026 to 31 Mar 2027, extendable to 30 Sep 2027.[E6]
  • The notice data states no restriction on who may bid. Exclusion grounds and selection criteria in the tender documents still apply.

Risks and unknowns

  • RiskBidding has not opened. Scope and dates can change before the call for competition.[E13]
  • UnknownNo submission deadline we could read in the notice data.
  • UnknownWe read the published notice, not the full tender documents.

Updates

  1. First seen · 28 Oct 2026, 09:18 UTC

    The source published a planning or prior information notice. Bidding has not opened.

    Source document 101402-2026

Evidence

18 facts

Every fact on this page comes from the published notice. Each entry shows the document and the field it was read from.

  1. E1

    The buyer is Department for Education.

    Document 101402-2026, field /buyer/name, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:18 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)

  2. E2

    The notice is classified under CPV 72263000 (Software implementation services).

    Document 101402-2026, field /tender/items/0/additionalClassifications/1/id, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:18 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)

  3. E3

    The notice is classified under CPV 72266000 (Software consultancy services).

    Document 101402-2026, field /tender/items/0/additionalClassifications/3/id, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:18 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)

  4. E4

    The notice is classified under CPV 72265000 (Software configuration services).

    Document 101402-2026, field /tender/items/0/additionalClassifications/2/id, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:18 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)

  5. E5

    The notice is classified under CPV 72262000 (Software development services).

    Document 101402-2026, field /tender/items/0/additionalClassifications/0/id, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:18 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)

  6. E6

    Lot 1 runs from 24 Dec 2026 to 31 Mar 2027, extendable to 30 Sep 2027.

    “2026-12-24T00:00:00+00:00 to 2027-03-31T23:59:59+01:00”

    Document 101402-2026, field /tender/lots/0/contractPeriod, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:18 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)

  7. E7

    The buyer's address is in United Kingdom.

    Document 101402-2026, field /parties/0/address/country, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:18 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)

  8. E8

    The buyer describes the requirement in the notice.

    “The Department for Education intends to undertake a competitive procurement to appoint up to two school Management Information System suppliers to participate in the Alpha phase of the Single Unique Identifier programme. The Alpha will test the integration of participating suppl…”

    Document 101402-2026, field /tender/description, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:18 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)

  9. E9

    Delivery location: UK, United Kingdom.

    Document 101402-2026, field /tender/items/0/deliveryAddresses/0, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:18 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)

  10. E10

    The legal basis is UKPGA 2023/54 (Procurement Act 2023).

    Document 101402-2026, field /tender/legalBasis/id, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:18 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)

  11. E11

    The buyer marks lot 1 as suitable for small and medium-sized businesses.

    “sme: true”

    Document 101402-2026, field /tender/lots/0/suitability/sme, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:18 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)

  12. E12

    The buyer marks lot 1 as suitable for voluntary, community and social enterprises.

    “vcse: true”

    Document 101402-2026, field /tender/lots/0/suitability/vcse, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:18 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)

  13. E13

    This is a planning or market engagement notice. Bidding has not opened.

    “planningUpdate”

    Document 101402-2026, field /tag, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:18 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)

  14. E14

    The procedure is: Open procedure.

    Document 101402-2026, field /tender/procurementMethodDetails, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:18 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)

  15. E15

    The notice was published on 27 Oct 2026.

    “2026-10-27T10:56:26Z”

    Document 101402-2026, field /date, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:18 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)

  16. E16

    Find a Tender gives the tender status as planned.

    Document 101402-2026, field /tender/status, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:18 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)

  17. E17

    The notice is titled "Implementing and Testing a Single Unique Identifier for Children within school MIS – Alpha".

    Document 101402-2026, field /tender/title, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:18 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)

  18. E18

    The stated value is GBP 300,000 excluding VAT.

    “300000 GBP”

    Document 101402-2026, field /tender/value/amount, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:18 UTC · source (opens in a new tab)

Contains public sector information from Find a Tender, licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Data licence: Open Government Licence v3.0 (opens in a new tab). Personal contact details in notices are not stored or shown.