Skip to content
UpcomingPlanned procurementBusiness servicesIT servicesResearch and development

West Midlands Private Rented Sector (PRS) Stock intelligence survey[E14]

Birmingham, United KingdomWest Midlands Combined Authority[E1]

In plain English

What they want
West Midlands Combined Authority is undertaking a Pre-Market Engagement (PME) to gather insight and feedback around the private rented sector (PRS). According to data from the English Housing Survey, 24.6% of PRS properties across the West Midlands are non-decent, and 19.2% are low-income, low energy efficient (LILEE).
Who can bid
No restrictions are stated in the notice data. The tender documents may set more.
Expected deadline
Not stated
Published 22 Oct 2026.
Value
GBP 120,000
Buyer
West Midlands Combined AuthoritySee what else this buyer buys and when.
Tender documents

The tender documents for this notice are on the buyer's own portal, usually behind a free supplier registration. We link to them and do not fetch them, so the report is based on the notice only.

Your tender documents

Download the tender pack from the buyer's portal (the invitation to tender, specification, selection questionnaire, scoring and draft contract) and add it here. We read every page and check it against your company for the bid assessment.

Sign in to upload documents.

Expected deadline
Not stated
Value[E15]
GBP 120,000
Published[E12]
22 Oct 2026
Procedure
Not stated
Last checked
15 hours ago

About the requirement

From the notice

West Midlands Combined Authority is undertaking a Pre-Market Engagement (PME) to gather insight and feedback around the private rented sector (PRS). According to data from the English Housing Survey, 24.6% of PRS properties across the West Midlands are non-decent, and 19.2% are low-income, low energy efficient (LILEE). The introduction of the Renters' Rights Act will bring substantial changes to the sector, creating new responsibilities for landlords and increasing responsibilities around enforcement, compliance and tenant engagement. While local authorities hold a range of PRS data, local authorities often lack a comprehensive knowledge & understanding of the size, condition and distribution of their private rented stock. A consistent regional evidence base would help address these intelligence gaps and support more informed decision-making. WMCA is undertaking this pre-market engagement exercise to better understand current challenges in the area and gather feedback that will inform the design of any future associated procurement activity. Responses will help shape the scope, outcomes and delivery approach of any opportunity that may be commissioned. Suppliers are encouraged to complete the engagement questionnaire attached to this PME. These must be submitted via the portal. PLEASE NOTE – This is an information gathering exercise rather than a call for competition and therefore publication or response does not commit WMCA or respondents to a future procurement, nor provide any process exemptions or preferential treatment to any parties expressing an interest. Please…[E8]

Eligibility and requirements

  • ConditionDelivery location: UKG, United Kingdom.[E9]
  • ConditionThe legal basis is UKPGA 2023/54 (Procurement Act 2023).[E10]
  • DetailLot 1 runs from 1 Mar 2027 to 29 Feb 2028.[E6]
  • The notice data states no restriction on who may bid. Exclusion grounds and selection criteria in the tender documents still apply.

Risks and unknowns

  • RiskBidding has not opened. Scope and dates can change before the call for competition.[E11]
  • UnknownNo submission deadline we could read in the notice data.
  • UnknownWe read the published notice, not the full tender documents.

Updates

  1. First seen Β· 28 Oct 2026, 09:20 UTC

    The source published a planning or prior information notice. Bidding has not opened.

    Source document 099921-2026

Evidence

15 facts

Every fact on this page comes from the published notice. Each entry shows the document and the field it was read from.

  1. E1

    The buyer is West Midlands Combined Authority.

    Document 099921-2026, field /buyer/name, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:20 UTC Β· source (opens in a new tab)

  2. E2

    The notice is classified under CPV 73210000 (Research consultancy services).

    Document 099921-2026, field /tender/items/0/additionalClassifications/3/id, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:20 UTC Β· source (opens in a new tab)

  3. E3

    The notice is classified under CPV 79311400 (Economic research services).

    Document 099921-2026, field /tender/items/0/additionalClassifications/0/id, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:20 UTC Β· source (opens in a new tab)

  4. E4

    The notice is classified under CPV 72316000 (Data analysis services).

    Document 099921-2026, field /tender/items/0/additionalClassifications/1/id, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:20 UTC Β· source (opens in a new tab)

  5. E5

    The notice is classified under CPV 72314000 (Data collection and collation services).

    Document 099921-2026, field /tender/items/0/additionalClassifications/2/id, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:20 UTC Β· source (opens in a new tab)

  6. E6

    Lot 1 runs from 1 Mar 2027 to 29 Feb 2028.

    β€œ2027-03-01T00:00:00+00:00 to 2028-02-29T23:59:59+00:00”

    Document 099921-2026, field /tender/lots/0/contractPeriod, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:20 UTC Β· source (opens in a new tab)

  7. E7

    The buyer's address is in United Kingdom.

    Document 099921-2026, field /parties/0/address/country, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:20 UTC Β· source (opens in a new tab)

  8. E8

    The buyer describes the requirement in the notice.

    β€œWest Midlands Combined Authority is undertaking a Pre-Market Engagement (PME) to gather insight and feedback around the private rented sector (PRS). According to data from the English Housing Survey, 24.6% of PRS properties across the West Midlands are non-decent, and 19.2% are…”

    Document 099921-2026, field /tender/description, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:20 UTC Β· source (opens in a new tab)

  9. E9

    Delivery location: UKG, United Kingdom.

    Document 099921-2026, field /tender/items/0/deliveryAddresses/0, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:20 UTC Β· source (opens in a new tab)

  10. E10

    The legal basis is UKPGA 2023/54 (Procurement Act 2023).

    Document 099921-2026, field /tender/legalBasis/id, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:20 UTC Β· source (opens in a new tab)

  11. E11

    This is a planning or market engagement notice. Bidding has not opened.

    Document 099921-2026, field /tag, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:20 UTC Β· source (opens in a new tab)

  12. E12

    The notice was published on 22 Oct 2026.

    β€œ2026-10-22T12:05:56+01:00”

    Document 099921-2026, field /date, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:20 UTC Β· source (opens in a new tab)

  13. E13

    Find a Tender gives the tender status as planning.

    Document 099921-2026, field /tender/status, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:20 UTC Β· source (opens in a new tab)

  14. E14

    The notice is titled "West Midlands Private Rented Sector (PRS) Stock intelligence survey".

    Document 099921-2026, field /tender/title, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:20 UTC Β· source (opens in a new tab)

  15. E15

    The stated value is GBP 120,000 excluding VAT.

    β€œ120000 GBP”

    Document 099921-2026, field /tender/value/amount, read 28 Oct 2026, 09:20 UTC Β· source (opens in a new tab)

Contains public sector information from Find a Tender, licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Data licence: Open Government Licence v3.0 (opens in a new tab). Personal contact details in notices are not stored or shown.